7-7-17 attorney general-sanctuary cities

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Justice Department is questioning whether some so-called sanctuary cities are responding honestly when asked whether they follow the law on sharing the immigration status of residents.  Attorney General Jeff Sessions says the department is reviewing responses from 10 jurisdictions that are facing the loss of some federal grant money if they can’t prove they cooperate with federal immigration authorities.  The cities include New York, Chicago, New Orleans and Philadelphia — where Sessions canceled a speaking appearance that was set for Thursday.  Also on the list are two states — California and Connecticut — along with Miami-Dade County in Florida; Cook County in Illinois; Milwaukee County in Wisconsin; and Clark County in Nevada.